Public Intoxication Attorney in Austin
In Texas, you can be charged with Public Intoxication for being intoxicated or drunk in public. Generally, this occurs when you are so inebriated that a peace officer feels you are going to hurt yourself or someone else. An experienced public intoxication attorney in Austin can help in this situation.
The Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Section 49.02 defines Public Intoxication as: “A person commits an offense if the person appears in a public place while intoxicated to the degree that the person may endanger the person or another.” An offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor. If found guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, you can be accessed a fine not to exceed $500.00.
Call Gabriella Young – Your Public Intoxication Attorney in Austin today: 512-499-0890
If you are under 21 years of age when you are arrested for Public Intoxication, you will suffer additional consequences, if convicted. A person under 21 years of age will suffer a license suspension for 30 days as a result of a first conviction. If a person is under 21 years of age and has a second conviction for Public Intoxication, the suspension will be for no more than 60 days. A third conviction results in a 6 month suspension.
If you are under 21 years of age, the law also mandates that you attend formal counseling (Alcohol Awareness Classes) through the court to avoid a conviction. A public intoxication attorney in Austin can help if you have worked out a deferred disposition, where no conviction occurs, but you fail to abide by the terms of that agreement. In this case, your license could be suspended for no less than 180 days and no more than 1 year.
If you have been arrested for Public Intoxication, call Gabriella Young – Public Intoxication Attorney in Austin – to set up a FREE consultation to discuss your rights! Don’t delay, call TODAY!